Author Topic: Process exclusion list entries not kept  (Read 571 times)

Offline MilesAhead

  • New
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Priority Boosts: 0
Process exclusion list entries not kept
« on: March 22, 2017, 11:15:26 AM »
Hi.  I am running CpuBalance Pro 1.0.0.42 64 bit on Windows 8.0.  I tried adding entries to the process exclusion list using the Set Excluded Processes Button.  I type in the name of the exe file and hit the Add Button.  The name is transfered to the box.  But after I OK Button all the way out and reopen the list, the list is empty.

This occurs if I use Run As Administrator or not.



Offline edkiefer

  • Volunteer User Moderator
  • Member#
  • *****
  • Posts: 1513
  • Priority Boosts: 1
  • Gender: Male
Re: Process exclusion list entries not kept
« Reply #1 on: March 22, 2017, 11:55:24 AM »
That's odd it works here (Win10).
sounds like it is not saving to ini file, check permission of the config folder and that it not set to read only.

C:\Users\[user name]\AppData\Roaming\ProcessLasso\config

Offline MilesAhead

  • New
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Priority Boosts: 0
Re: Process exclusion list entries not kept
« Reply #2 on: March 22, 2017, 02:15:04 PM »
That's odd it works here (Win10).
sounds like it is not saving to ini file, check permission of the config folder and that it not set to read only.

C:\Users\[user name]\AppData\Roaming\ProcessLasso\config

I just checked.  The .ini file was modified today.  It is not read-only.  In security tab system, administrator, and my account all have modification rights in the top five categories checked.  Also I tried putting in the complete path of the programs instead of just the exe filename.  It did not modify the file and the box was empty once I "OKd out" of the dialogs.  Opened the setting back up right away.  It is empty.

My system is a bit weird because it was Open Box.  It was a gift from someone on another continent so trying to exchange it was just too much hassle.  Stuff like Windows Update, Restore Points etc.. do not work.  Windows Installer I often have to run it then restore a system image with a rollback program and do it again etc..

But other than those quirks it does work.  The only other time I saw .ini file refuse to update was if they are under one of the Program Files folders.  But I took ownership of that and all subfolders and that cleared up that issue.  Usually in a case like this you close the program, then reopen it and the settings disappeared.  But I am seeing them disappear while the program is still running.  Really strange.

Edit:  As a work-around could you tell me the format of the ini file setting for excluded programs?  I wrote a few programs that work by monitoring the active window while running in the tray.  It is likely those will be the only ones I need to exclude.  At least until we figure it out.  :)

Edit2:  The other bit of information.. I cannot do anything with Task Scheduler on my system.  Even when I run CpuBalance manually I get the error about not being able to set a scheduled task to run elevated or whatever.  I don't know why that would have any effect on this issue but I thought I'd mention it.
« Last Edit: March 22, 2017, 02:38:56 PM by MilesAhead »

Offline edkiefer

  • Volunteer User Moderator
  • Member#
  • *****
  • Posts: 1513
  • Priority Boosts: 1
  • Gender: Male
Re: Process exclusion list entries not kept
« Reply #3 on: March 22, 2017, 04:49:44 PM »
Well, you could open in notepad and look for this line
Here is example with notepad

OocExclusions=notepad.exe

Offline MilesAhead

  • New
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Priority Boosts: 0
Re: Process exclusion list entries not kept
« Reply #4 on: March 23, 2017, 08:16:46 AM »
Well, you could open in notepad and look for this line
Here is example with notepad

OocExclusions=notepad.exe

Ok, but if there are multiple is it one on each line or comma separated list or ??  I am think just editing the ini file before starting the program might be the quickest way to try the exclusion feature.

Edit:  Comma separated seems to work afa adding them to the box.  :)

« Last Edit: March 23, 2017, 08:21:05 AM by MilesAhead »

Offline edkiefer

  • Volunteer User Moderator
  • Member#
  • *****
  • Posts: 1513
  • Priority Boosts: 1
  • Gender: Male
Re: Process exclusion list entries not kept
« Reply #5 on: March 23, 2017, 08:27:58 AM »
Yeh, comma is used all on one line.

Offline Jeremy Collake

  • Administrator
  • Member#
  • *****
  • Posts: 5130
  • Priority Boosts: 132
  • Gender: Male
  • The Lasso
    • Bitsum
Re: Process exclusion list entries not kept
« Reply #6 on: March 24, 2017, 12:54:16 AM »
This may be a bug I'm tracking. Please hold, keep updating, and keep me updated.

There is a 'config gets reset' issue in v9 that is causing havoc like this, we'll see.

Thanks
Software Engineer. Bitsum LLC.